Spitz Prize

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize is awarded every year for the best book in liberal and/or democratic theory published two years earlier (e.g., the 2009 prize was awarded to a book published in 2007).

Books which are primarily historical (rather than theoretical), together with textbooks and edited books, are ineligible. Publishers and individuals may nominate books by sending copies marked "Regarding Spitz Prize" to the Prize Committee members. The deadline for the submission of candidate books is May 1st. Each committee member can be emailed by clicking on their name below, or as a whole by clicked "Spitz Prize Committee".

2011 Spitz Prize Committee:

Chair: Professor Bryan Garsten
Department of Political Science
Yale University
P.O. Box 208301
New Haven, CT 06520-8301

Professor Colin Bird
Department of Politics
University of Virginia
P.O. Box 400787
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4787

Professor Melissa Schwartzberg
Department of Political Science
Columbia University
7th Floor, International Affairs Bldg.
420 W. 118th Street
New York, NY 10027

David and Elaine Spitz Prizewinners to date

2010 Spitz Prize

Sharon Krause
Civil Passions
Princeton University Press, 2008

The David and Elaine Spitz Prize

Spitz Prizewinners Page

Recent Reviews

Augustine and Politics as Longing in the World
John von Heyking
University of Missouri Press, 2001

more reviews...